What does it take to be a freelance graphic designer?

I have been thinking about where I want to be once I finish college, and I’ve started to come up with a few possible scenarios. One is that I stay in my current location and pursue my career as a game designer. I have secured an internship with Zenimax Online which starts at the end of January, helping them get their big project ‘The Elder Scrolls Online’ finished by April. I feel that the experience I gain there and my passion to make games could help me with any future pursuits in that field of work locally. The bonus to living where I currently am now is that a lot of major game studios are no more than 30 to 60 minutes away (Bethesda, Firaxis, Zenimax).

The second option is to move somewhere else (preferably somewhere warmer) and try my hand at freelance graphic/web design. Now this could easily lead to many other opportunities, especially with moving to a new location. With the experience I am gaining in my college courses, I could see myself doing something with animation for a studio of some sort. That would be something I would need to invest more time into because I have not had much real world experience with it. Working from home would have it’s definite perks but on the other hand it has a unavoidable sense of worrying about having enough work for the next month. Freelance work is something I am going to pursue with my final years of undegrad and I think by the time I finish I will have a more accurate understanding of what effort it takes to make a living.

With those thoughts, it’s time to sleep.

Leave a comment